AREF Board:

AREF Board of Directors:

Kim Mesa, MBA, Board President
Ms. Mesa is a former Alum Rock School Board Trustee (2002-2006) and has been actively involved in the Alum Rock community for over 20 years. She has held management positions at a local non-profit and is currently a Consultant. She has served on the Board since 2001.

Douglas Campbell, Board Vice President
Mr. Campbell is a retired Alum Rock teacher and principal with over 30 years of experience in education. He taught for many years in a one-room schoolhouse on Mt Hamilton. He joined the Board in 2009.

Nate Dawson, Board Secretary
Mr. Dawson currently teaches 4th grade at Lyndale Elementary School in Alum Rock. He has been a teacher in ARUESD for over 15 years. He volunteered with the foundation for several years before joining the Board in 2010.

George Castro, Ph.D, Board Treasurer
Dr. Castro is a retired scientist and SJSU Professor. He has been involved in the Alum Rock community for many years. He has created and operated programs that combine sports, science, and technology. He is the volunteer Director of the STEM Lab at Joseph George Community Center and has been on the Board since 2003.

Lauren Cage, MA, Member
Ms. Cage is a Gallery Program Specialist for The Tech Museum of Innovation, where she develops and facilitates maker-style STEAM programming and workshops. She is co-founder of Tinker Belles, teaching project-based learning workshops. Her Masterís degree is in Cultural Anthropology. She joined the board in 2015.

Rick Freudenberger, Member
Mr. Freudenberger is Vice President of WSP Environment & Energy and has been active in the Alum Rock community for over 20 years. He joined the Board in 2010.

Tanya Freudenberger, Member
Ms. Freudenberger is a former Alum Rock School Board Trustee (2004-2008) and has been actively involved in the Alum Rock community for over 25 years. She has served in various capacities on the Board since 2003.

Darcie Green, Member
Ms. Green has served as an aide to several elected officials including former Assembly Member Joe Coto. She currently works for Kaiser Permanente in Government Relations. She is a former ARUESD Board Trustee and currently is Board President of the Santa Clara County Board of Education. She joined the foundation Board in 2009.

Nancy Pang, Ed.D, Member
Dr. Pang has served in multiple positions at Alum Rock School District in the areas of Technology, GATE and Libraries. She currently works at the Palo Alto School District and is an Educational Consultant. She has been on the Board since 2004.

Dorothy Singleton, Ed.D, Member
Dr. Singleton is currently a 1st grade teacher at San Antonio Elementary School in Alum Rock and has taught Graduate courses at National University. She has been a teacher for over 40 years and has been on the Board since 2001.

Corinne Okada Takara, Member
Ms. Takara is an Artist/Arts Education Specialist who has designed and conducted art/technology workshops in Alum Rock since 2007. She taught Design Sketching at Stanford University and was a guest lecturer in the Product Design Department. She is the Designer & Program Coordinator of the Summer Art & Design Thinking Camp and joined the board in 2012.

Representatives to the Board:
Andres Quintero ARUESD Board Representative
Jocelyn Merz, President , Alum Rock Educators Association
Imee Almazan, President, Alum Rock Administrators Association

Emeritus Board Members
Kathy Chavez-Napoli
Gaye Dabalos
John S. Leyba
Edie Pricolo

Board Members in Memoriam
Betty Howard
Marlene Rose

All Board Representatives are non-voting members.



Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Newsletters you can trust

© 2010-2015 Alum Rock Educational Foundation